top of page

Discover New Jersey

IMG_8378_edited.png

Seasonal Guide to Pick-Your-Own Fruits in New Jersey

New Jersey, often referred to as the Garden State, offers an abundance of pick-your-own farms that provide fresh, seasonal produce throughout the year. From sweet strawberries in spring to juicy apples in fall, there's always something to pick. This guide will help you plan your fruit-picking adventures with a seasonal breakdown and a list of farms where you can enjoy the experience.


A vibrant basket filled with freshly picked strawberries set against the lush green backdrop of a New Jersey farm field.

Spring (May - June)


Strawberries

Season: Late May to mid-June

Strawberries are the first fruits of the season, offering sweet and juicy berries perfect for jams, desserts, or fresh eating.


Farms:

Johnson's Corner Farm in Medford: johnsonsfarm.com

Alstede Farms in Chester: alstedefarms.com


Cherries

Season: June

Cherries, both sweet and tart, make for a delightful early summer treat.


Farms:

Terhune Orchards in Princeton: terhuneorchards.com

Demarest Farms in Hillsdale: demarestfarms.com


 


 

Summer (June - August)


Blueberries

Season: Late June to early August

Description: Known for their health benefits, blueberries are perfect for snacking, baking, and freezing.


Farms:

DiMeo Farms in Hammonton: dimeofarms.com

Mood's Farm Market in Mullica Hill: moodsfarmmarket.com


Raspberries

Season: Mid-June to August

Description: Raspberries come in several varieties, providing a mix of sweet and tart flavors.


Farms:

Bonacorsi Family Farm in Frenchtown: bonacorsifamilyfarm.com

Stony Hill Farms in Chester: stonyhillfarms.com


Blackberries

Season: Mid-July to mid-August

Description: Blackberries are larger and juicier, making them ideal for pies and preserves.


Farms:

Valley Crest Farm & Preserve in Lebanon: valleycrestfarmnj.org

Wemrock Orchards in Freehold: wemrockorchard.com


Peaches

Season: Mid-July to September

Description: New Jersey peaches are famous for their sweetness and juiciness.


Farms:

Battleview Orchards in Freehold: battlevieworchards.com

Hill Creek Farms in Mullica Hill: hillcreekfarms.com


 


 

Fall (August - October)


Apples

Season: Late August to October

Description: Apples are the quintessential fall fruit, perfect for pies, cider, and snacking.


Farms:

Sun High Orchards in Randolph: sunhigh.com

Eastmont Orchards in Colts Neck: eastmontorchards.com


Pears

Season: September to October

Description: Pears offer a delicate sweetness and can be enjoyed fresh, poached, or baked.


Farms:

Melick's Town Farm in Oldwick: melickstownfarm.com

Prospect Hill Orchards in Milton: prospecthillorchards.com


Pumpkins

Season: October

Description: Pumpkin picking is a favorite fall activity, perfect for Halloween decorations and pies.


Farms:

Happy Day Farm in Manalapan: happydayfarmnj.com

Ort Farms in Long Valley: ortfarms.com


Cranberries

Season: October

Description: Cranberries are often harvested in a unique wet method, but some farms offer dry picking.


Farms:

Whitesbog Village in Browns Mills: whitesbog.org


Plan Your Visit

When planning your visit, always check the farms' websites or contact them directly for the most up-to-date information on picking times and availability. Many farms also offer additional activities such as hayrides, petting zoos, and farm markets, making them perfect for a fun family outing.

Enjoy the bounty of New Jersey's farms and the fresh, delicious fruits of each season!


Comments


Copy of Add a heading.png
bottom of page